Posted by: suzannern | June 15, 2011

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

Working 60 hours/week can make it challenging to (1) eat well and (2) cook homemade food. I still struggle with the fact that, for now, I can only squeeze in 2-3 workouts per week.

1-2 cardio sessions and a bikram class is a good week.

That being said, my diet is of utmost importance now more than ever. I try to plan my week in advance and bring meals and snacks to work with me. It saves both calories and money–especially in NYC.

I tend to follow recipes and not create or improvise much when I cook. Pretty boring. These stuffed peppers are a rarity for me because I actually came up with the idea all by myself. Since this does not happen very often, I figured it is something worth blogging about.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers
Servings:2

Two Bell Peppers
1 t. olive oil (feel free to add up to a T.)
0.5 t. garlic (minced)
1 Medium Tomato
0.5 cup eggplant
0.125 cup onion
0.75 cup lentils (ready to eat- I used “Melissa’s”)
0.25 cup goat cheese
salt and pepper (to taste)

Preheat Oven 375 degrees

Slice top of peppers and remove seeds. Place on baking sheet.

Chop tomato, onion and eggplant (I chopped them to be about, oh maybe, 0.5 inch in size).

In a skillet, brown onion and garlic in olive oil. Add tomato and eggplant. Cook for about 5 minutes. Add lentils. Add salt and pepper to taste as you add ingredients. Cook for about 5 more minutes.

Remove from heat. Empty cooked ingredients into a bowl. Add goat cheese and mix throughout. Stuff peppers with mixture.

Place peppers on baking sheet, cover each with aluminum foil. Bake for 30-35 minutes.


I enjoyed my stuffed pepper with an apple and a pineapple chobani for lunch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

