Posted by: suzannern | November 10, 2009

“The planet isn’t going anywhere…”

Why do I feel like I am going to be attacked when defending vaccinations? What has caused such a negative stir about something that has drastically changed our lives?

Seriously folks, vaccines are in the top two (the other being clean water) community health interventions that have vastly increased our life span and quality of life.

What is interesting is the total ignorance of this fact. People are quick to blame vaccines for autism and toxicity but have they ever lived in a pre-vaccine world? Do they realize there is no reliable, empirically valid study to back-up this claim?

Because of vaccines, we have bettered our lives and increased our life spans. However, we are now an over-populated race. A planet full of people who take their lives (“I’m speaking for developed countries here) for granted.

With that type of attitude, our cozy lives won’t last.

Am I “pro-vaccines?” Yes. Did I receive the H1N1 vaccine? Yes. This is the first flu vaccine I have received in about 3 years but I made the decision based on the simple fact that I was not around for the last swine flu outbreak and therefor do not have immunity to it. This is why many healthy, young adults are dying from this strain of the flu. No previous exposure.

The same idea follows for children born in countries (like the Us of A) that have virtually zero cases of all of the diseases we were vaccinated against as infants and children (polio, mumps, meningitis).

No exposure.
No Vaccine.
No immunity.

These diseases have not gone extinct. They can come back.

So, if the majority of people decide to not get vaccinated or not have their children vaccinated because they think their child’s IQ may be less than 140, (why yes, that was a hint of sarcasm) there will no longer be “herd immunity” (google it– educate yourself!)) and more epidemics will occur. In fact, that could be a good thing– overpopulation will be kept in check.

I’m sorry if I am coming off as harsh. But in the wake of H1N1 I have noticed many people spewing out anti-vaccination mumbo jumbo with no scientific evidence to back them up. They are unaware of the history of disease and medicine and have not done their research.

Feel free to have whatever opinion you want. I simply ask you this. Don’t be ignorant.

I leave you with one of my favorite George Carlin “bits” that I find relevant to my viewpoint…


Responses

  1. Hey there 🙂 Interesting post…I don’t know enough to have a strong opinion one way or another, but I do feel that I can make a well-informed decision to be “pro-vaccine” based on the evidence of their effectiveness for preventing diseases throughout history. I myself have not received a flu shot or an H1N1 vaccine, simply because I haven’t had the time to seek it out!

    I think people are afraid of what they don’t understand (or in the case of our society, haven’t had to experience in recent history), so fears of disease along with fears of the unknown make the topic of vaccination a very controversial one. Anyway…enough rambling..glad to see ya posting 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

